Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Article Index
Organizational Setup
All Pages



In order to fulfill these mandate effectively, IIRR is organized into four sections and ten units along with centralized service wings and administration. AICRIP activities are integrated into the mandate with senior most scientists of each discipline acting as the PIs of the programme. Research and institutional activities are planned and guided by Research Advisory Committee and Institute Management Committee while the progress is critically evaluated once in five years by the Quinquennial Review Committee.


The Directorate has well equipped laboratories with state of the art equipments, centrally air cooled greenhouses, bio-safe transgenic greenhouses, growth chambers, well laid out experimental farm and digital enabled library facilities. IIRR also coordinates rice research at 45 funded and over 100 voluntary centers under AICRIP.



Institute Joint Staff Council of IIRR

Chairman :

Dr. S. R. Voleti; Director(A) 

Official side :


Dr.N.Somasekhar; Principal Scientist, Entomology

Dr. Jyothi Badri; Scientist, Plant Breeding

Dr. Aarti Singh; Scientist, Agronomy

Dr. R. Gobinath; Scientist, Soil Science

Shri  A. K. Maheshwari; F&AO 

Members & Secretary (OS)

Shri B. Sathish; SAO  

Staff side :


Shri B. Vidyanath; Assistant, CJSC

Smt. P. Lakshmi; Assistant

Shri P. Koteswara Rao; Technical Assistant

Shri  V Golu; SSS

Shri  T. Ashirwadam; SSS

Members & Secretary (SS) & IJSC Member 

Shri  T. Venkaiah; Senior Technician   

Quinquennial Review Team  

Chairman :

Dr. H. S. Gupta; Former Director, IARI, New Delhi

Members :

Dr.J. L. Dwivedi; Ex-Prof & Head, Plant Breeding, NDUAT & T, UP

Dr. Somaresh Kundu; Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Environmental Soil Science, ICAR-IISS, Bhopal 

Dr. R. Sridhar; Ex-Principal Scientist & Head, Department of Plant Pathology , Chennai

Dr. P. S. Birthal; National Professor, National Institute of Agri. Economics & Policy Research, New Delhi

Prof.T. V. K. Singh; Hyderabad

Member Secretary :  

Dr. L. V. Subba Rao; Head, Plant Breeding, IIRR, Hyderabad  

Research Advisory Committee

Dr. S.Brar;  Adjunet Professor PAU Ludhiana, Chairman

Dr. A. K. Singh;IARI,  Member

Dr. Raji Reddy; PJTSAUMember

Dr. R. Raibindran; TNAU, Member

Dr. Randhir Singh; Member

Dr. S. R. Voleti; Director (A), Member

Dr. I. S. Solanki; ADG FFC, Member

Shri. Athmakuri Brahmaiah,  Farmer representative

Shri. Vittal Reddy,  Farmer representative

Official Language Implementation Committee   

Dr. S. R. Voleti; Chairperson


Dr. S.M. BalachandranPrincipal Scientist, Biotechnology, IIRR

Dr. D.Subramanyam; Principal Scientist, Plant Physiology, IIRR 

Dr. Gururaj. Katti; Principal Scientist, Entomology, IIRR

Dr. P.Muthuraman; Principal Scientist, TTT, IIRR 

Shri B. SathishSenior Administrative Officer, IIRR 

Shri  A. K. Maheshwari; Finance & Administrative Officer, IIRR  

Special Invitee: 

Dr. B. Sailaja;  Principal Scientist, Computer Applications in Agriculure, IIRR

Dr. Arti Singh;  Scientist, Agronomy, IIRR

Member Secretary: 

Dr. Mahesh Kumar; Senior Technical Officer, IIRR

Coordinator :

Smt. Vanita; UDC, IIRR  


Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBSC)

Dr. S. R. Voleti; Director(A); IIRR; Chairman

Prof. P.B. Kirti; Professor; Dept. of Plant Sciences; Univ. of Hyderabad; DBT Representative

Dr. M. Sujatha; Principal Scientist, Biotechnology, DOR, Hyderabad; Outside Expert

Dr. Gururaj. Katti; Principal Scientist, Entomology, IIRR; Member

Dr. G.S. Laha; Senior Scientist, Pathology, IIRR; Member

Dr. R. M. Sundaram; Senior Scientist, Biotechnology, IIRR; Member

Dr. A. Debnath; Medical Officer, NAARM Hyderabad; Member

Dr. S.M. BalachandranPrincipal Scientist, Biotechnology, IIRR; Member Secretary


Institute Management Committee(IMC)   

Dr. S. R. Voleti; Director(A), IIRR,Hyderabad, Chairman

Dr. Raji Reddy Director of Research Prof. Jayashankar Telangana, State Agricultural University, Member

Shri Athmakuri Brahmaiah, Farmers Representative Bhagyanagar, Ongole, Andhra Pradesh, Member

Shri M. Vittal Reddy, Farmer’s Representative, Shinnagudam Mandal, Nalgonda, Telangana, Member

Dr. D. Krishnaveni,Principal Scientist, IIRR, Hyderabad, Member

Dr. B. Dayakar Rao, Principal Scientist, DSR,Hyderabad, Member

Shri D. D. Verma, Comptroller (Finance) NAARM, Hyderabad, Member

Shri B. Sathish, Senior Administrative Officer, IIRR, Hyderabad, Member Secretary

Prioritization, Monitoring and Evaluation Cell  (PMEC)

Dr. D.Subramanyam; Chairman



Dr. A.S.Hari Prasad, Member

Dr. G.S.Laha, Member

Dr. P.Muthuraman, Member

Dr. Sheshu Madhav, Member

Dr. G.S.V.Prasad, Member

Sr. Administrative Officer, Member

Finance & Acctts.Officer, Member

Dr. M.B.B.Prasad Babu, Convenor